browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

Cascadia String Ensemble

We are working on a June 2017 concert including some very fun viola parts!  Always a special moment to a have the viola featured.  Works will include the Dvorak Piano Quartet and the Howell’s piano quartet.  The concert will be @ St.Michael and All Angels Church Saturday June 10th, and one @ the old church, the Wednesday following during the day.  As always, you can also inquire to be notified of the concerts final details.


The Cascadia String Ensemble was formed in 2011, in Portland Oregon comprised of accomplished musicians with the vision to put on high quality live recitals to showcase the music as it was intended to be heard.  We perform a wide variety of repertoire, and have worked with excellent chamber music coaches such as Joel Belgique, and Tatiana Kolchanova to refine our craft.  We have performed in distinguished local events such as the Portland Columbia Symphony Orchestra’s chamber music concert, and are currently participating in the Old Church Lunchbag series, in addition to organizing our own concert series an additional three to four times a year.  Because we organize the concerts on our own, all help in getting the word out is greatly appreciated.  We love our audience and strive to reach new levels of ensemble playing with each concert.  We are available for your special event, weddings, or corporate luncheons if a piano is available; please contact us for reasonable rates, and availability.  References available upon request.  Three months of lead time for concerts is a minimum, with six+ much more likely we can help out.


A string quartet version of our group is also again alive!  As will be a piano quartet and trio.


Elizabeth Doty, a Portland native, received her Bachelor’s of Music Performance degree summa cum laude from the University of Oregon, and went on to complete her Master’s of Music Performance at the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music, where she held a string quartet fellowship. A core member of the Columbia, and Vancouver Symphony Orchestras, Elizabeth also teaches violin lessons at the Rose City Music Academy.

Tom Graves, cellist, is a practicing attorney.  He graduated with a double degree from Oberlin College & Conservatory.  Tom has performed as a member of The Aspen Concert Orchestra, The Oberlin Orchestra, and more recently with the Portland Columbia Symphony Orchestra; he has also performed solo with the Richmond Symphony Orchestra.

Jeremy Waterman, violist, completed the double degree program at Oberlin, and a masters in Environmental Science at OHSU.  He is a core member of the Vancouver Symphony, and is a father of two young girls.  Now, he enjoys his role of part time stay-at-home dad and Suzuki violin and viola teacher in Southwest Portland.

Hannah Brewer is a Portland-based pianist, organist, and harpsichordist. She holds a Bachelor of Music degree from Oberlin Conservatory, a Master of Music degree from Pittsburg State University, and additional degrees in art history. She is currently Organist at St. Michael & All Angels Episcopal Church in Portland, OR. In addition to accompanying a variety of choral ensembles, Hannah plays harpsichord with the Wildwood Consort and sings with the early music choir Cantores in Ecclesia.

Listen to us online right here, right now!


Cascadia Piano Quartet’s June 2017 Concert


Dvorak Piano Quartet #2 in E-flat major, Op. 87

  1. Allegro con fuoco;
  2. Lento;
  3. Allegro moderato, grazioso;
  4. Finale. Allegro, ma non troppo

Herbert Howells Piano Quartet #1 in A minor, Op.21

  1. Allegro moderato, tranquillo;
  2. Lento, molto tranquillo;
  3. Allegro molto, energico;



We haven’t just done ‘classical music’, here’s Paranoid Android by Radiohead!

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.